Happy New Year

Despite the pessimists, we seem to have made it into 2017, leaving behind the proverbial dumpster fire and stepping into a new, bright, and shiny year. I even woke up to fresh snow on the ground, which is remarkably strange for my micro climate. The first of January is when everything feels like it could be possible; we just have to try.

I had my last alcoholic beverage last night around 11pm while marathon-watching episodes of “Grey’s Anatomy,” because Shonda Rhimes is a goddess, and I hadn’t seen the show until a few weeks ago. Being introverted, and not being part of a New Years Eve show this year (unlike the previous 3 years), I elected to keep things quiet, and silently welcomed the New Year before getting back to whatever drama was attacking Seattle Grace. But there was one small factor that I never said out loud when I decided on my evening’s plans: I didn’t want to be out, and drinking, and start the year by accidentally drinking after midnight.

Besides the New Years’ kiss, there are traditions of toasting with Champagne (or something bubbly, at least, or whatever you are drinking that night), and I didn’t want to be caught in that moment. I didn’t want to start this project with a glass to my lips and any more doubt about my abilities to make this small change and see what happens.

Some friends have been supportive of this project, and others have called it silly (although truthfully, everyone is likely a combination of these two opinions). Why give up something I like? My hope is to be stronger for it. My fear is I won’t be.

I’m going to try to track the number of alcoholic beverages I pass up over the year. This will likely take the form of an informal tally in my shiny new day planner. Considering I am going to try to log what I am reading, watching, and listening to throughout the year, this is just one more item about which I will be taking note. I like organization. I like setting things up in a way that I feel I am putting my best foot forward.

So despite my fears of failure, I’m giving this a try. I’ve been thinking about it for nearly a year, and since I announced my intentions a month ago, I must see them through.

I have a myriad of topics I am considering for blog posts, but if you have any questions or comments, I am happy to read them, ponder answers, and reply in whatever way I can. For instance, if it would be beneficial for anyone for me to introduce myself to a fuller extent, let me know. It’s hard to introduce one’s self when you feel like you are the only one in the room.

So cheers to be beginning of this new year. Let’s see where it takes us.

One thought on “Happy New Year

  1. Pingback: Yet Another Project | The Only Kathy Trithardt

Leave a Reply

